File Photo/IANS

TMC MPs Mimi, Nusrat raise first issue in Parliament

New Delhi:  Cine stars-turned-Members of Parliament (MPs) of the Trinamool Congress, Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan Ruhi, raised their first issue in Parliament on Wednesday. While Chakraborty sought construction of a flyover in her constituency Jadavpur to deal with traffic congestion, Nusrat sought a Kendriya Vidyalaya in her area Basirhat in West Bengal. #LokSabha में […]

File Photo

Trolled for wearing western outfit in Parliament, TMC MP Mimi Chakraborty says people talk equality, but can’t see change

New Delhi: Undeterred by the bitter and sexist trolling sexist trolling on social media, newly elected Member of Parliament from Trinamool Congress, Mimi Chakraborty, said she believes “not in saying much, but delivering.” She dismissed the online trolls saying they have nothing else to do. The Bengali actress, who took a plunge into politics, was brutally […]

Several film celebs win in LS battle, some lose

New Delhi:  In the political ‘dangal’ of the Lok Sabha elections 2019, a slew of film celebrities including Hema Malini, Sunny Deol, Kirron Kher, Manoj Tiwari, Anubhav Mohanty, Mimi Chakraborty and Nushrat Jahan emerged victorious. Veteran actress Hema Malini, Bollywood’s evergreen ‘Dreamgirl’, won from Mathura by 293,471 votes, defeating Narendra Singh of Rashtriya Lok Dal. […]