Roashan Baig (File Photo/Facebook)

Notice to Karnataka Congress MLA for criticising party leaders

Bengaluru:  The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) on Tuesday served notice to its legislator Roashan Baig for allegedly criticising the party’s state unit leaders ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha poll results on Thursday, an official said. “A show-cause notice has been served on Baig to explain why disciplinary action should not be taken against […]

Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy (File Photo/IANS)

4 JD-S workers from Karnataka dead in Colombo blasts

Bengaluru:  Four activists of the ruling Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) died in Colombo’s serial bomb blasts on Sunday, Karnataka Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy said on Monday. “Of the seven party workers who flew to Colombo, four have been declared dead and three missing. We are trying to ascertain their whereabouts through the Indian High Commission,” the […]

Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy (File Photo/IANS)

Kumaraswamy calls Karnataka tax raids ‘revenge politics’

Bengaluru: Accusing Prime Minister Narendra Modi of misusing the Income-Tax Department to threaten political leaders of the ruling JD-S and Congress in Karnataka, Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy on Thursday said the I-T raids were nothing but “revenge politics by the BJP-led NDA government”. “The Income-Tax Department raids on some businessmen and our important political leaders in […]

Tejasvi Surya (File Photo)

BJP picks Surya over Tejaswini for Bangalore South

Bengaluru: The BJP on Tuesday named its Karnataka Yuva Morcha General Secretary Tejasvi Surya as its Banagalore South Lok Sabha seat candidate, shattering late Ananth Kumar’s supporters’ hopes of seeing his widow contest from the prestigious seat. The party’s central election committee decided early in the day to field the 28-year-old Karnataka High Court lawyer […]