Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar (File Photo/IANS)

14 Karnataka rebel MLAs disqualified for defying whip

Bengaluru: A day before the trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly, Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqualified disqualified 14 rebel legislators of the Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) for defying their parties whip to attend the House on July 23. The 14 MLAs had failed to attend the House on July 23, when former chief […]


Yediyurappa orders stay on all projects, transfers in July

Bengaluru:  Soon after Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala invited him to form the government, Chief Minister-designate B.S. Yediyurappa on Friday directed Chief Secretary T.M. Vijay Bhaskar to withhold all new projects and transfers made by the earlier JD-S-Congress coalition government in this month. “Yediyurappa orally instructed Bhaskar to put on hold all new projects cleared and […]

B.S. Yeddyurappa (Photo: Malavika Avinash)

Yediyurappa takes oath as Karnataka Chief Minister

Bengaluru:  Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala on Friday sworn in BJP state president B.S. Yediyurappa as Chief Minister of the southern state at Raj Bhavan in the city centre. “The Governor administered the oath of office and secrecy to Yediyurappa around 6:30 p.m. at a simple ceremony in the well-lit ‘Glass House’ on the sprawling lawns […]

BJP leader B.S. Yediyurappa (Photo: IANS)

Congress, JD-S to boycott Yediyurappa’s swearing-in

Bengaluru:  Relations between political leaders touched a new low in Karnataka, with the Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) deciding to boycott the swearing-in of BJP leader B.S. Yediyurappa as the state’s chief minister on Friday evening. “Our party’s state President Dinesh Gundu Rao has directed our leaders, former ministers and legislators to boycott Yediyurappa’s oath-taking […]

BJP state President B.S.Yeddyurappa (File Photo/IANS)

Yeddyurappa used horse-trading to subvert democracy: Congress

Bengaluru:  The Karnataka Congress on Friday said that BJP state President B.S.Yeddyurappa (BSY) had used his excellent horse-trading skills to subvert democracy and come to power. The Congress charge came minutes after the Raj Bhawan announced that Yeddyurappa would be sworn in as the new chief minister of the state later in the day. “Corruption […]

File Photo

BJP stakes claim to form government in Karnataka, Yeddyurappa to take oath as CM

Bengaluru: BJP leader B.S.Yeddyurappa will take oath as Karnataka chief minister on Friday evening after he staked claim to form the new government with Governor Vajubhai Vala at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru. “As the Governor has given permitted our party (BJP) to form the government, I will be taking oath around 6-6.15 p.m. today (Friday) evening […]

Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar (Photo: IANS)

2 Congress rebels, Independent disqualified in Karnataka

Bengaluru: Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar on Thursday disqualified two rebel Congress legislators and an Independent lawmaker with immediate effect. The Congress rebels are Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak) and Mahesh Kumatahalli (Athani) constituencies in Belagavi district, while Independent R. Shankar is (Ranebennur) in Haveri district. “The 3 legislators have been disqualified under the Anti-Defection Law (10th […]