Ramesh Kumar Sharma (File Photo/Facebook)

LS polls: 6 of top 10 richest candidates from Congress

New Delhi: Of the top 10 richest candidates in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, six are from the Congress, according to the National Election Watch (NEW) and the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). While Ramesh Kumar Sharma, an Independent candidate from Patliputra in Bihar, is in pole position with declared assets worth over Rs 1,107 […]

Abhishek Manu Singhvi (File Photo/Twitter)

Federal fascism embedded in BJP’s DNA: Congress

New Delhi: Condemning the vandalism at a Kolkata college and destruction of Bengali polymath Vidyasagar’s bust during BJP President Amit Shah’s roadshow on Tuesday, the Congress on Wednesday said “federal fascism” was embedded in the BJP’s DNA. Addressing the media here, the party’s Rajya Sabha MP from West Bengal and spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi said: […]

Derek O'Brien (File Photo/Facebook)

TMC complains to EC about central forces, BJP leaders

Kolkata:  A Trinamool Congress (TMC) delegation, here on Monday, met Deputy Election Commissioner Sudeep Jain and sought action against the central forces for favouring a political party, as well as some Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates for creating confusion among voters. Jain is in the city to conduct a training session for poll officials ahead […]

Photo: Twitter@PIB

Congress moves EC over alleged MCC violations by BJP

New Delhi:  The Congress on Friday moved the Election Commission (EC) against “misutilisation” of government officials in preparation of manifesto by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and demanded action against the party functionaries including Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The Model of Code of Conduct (MCC) for the Lok Sabha polls has become “Modi Code of […]