JD(U) to field 15 candidates for Arunachal assembly polls

Guwahati:  The Janata Dal (United) has decided to contest at least 15 assembly constituencies of Arunachal Pradesh in the polls due on April 11, according to party’s National General Secretary Afaque Ahmad Khan on Friday.

“We are giving party ticket to only capable candidates. Prominent among them include two sitting MLAs Techi Kaso, MLA of Itanagar (ST), and Dikto Yekar, MLA of Daporijo (ST) constituency,” said Senchumo NSN Lotha, Chairman of the party’s North East Election Committee.

Former legislators, student leaders and eminent public leaders are among the party candidates. The party is also fielding lone woman candidate Padmeshwsri Jomoh from Lekang constituency.

The JD (U) has one legislator in Nagaland and the party is one of crucial allies of the NDPP-led government in the hill state. Apart from Nagaland, JD (U) also has strong organizational base in Manipur.