Yediyurappa wins trust vote in Karnataka assembly

Karnataka CM B.S. Yeddiyurappa (File Photo)

Bengaluru (1 MIN READ): Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa on Monday won the crucial trust vote in the state assembly through voice vote.

State assembly speaker KR Ramesh Kumar who took up the motion moved by Yediyurappa, declared that the motion was passed by voice vote.

“Yediyurappa has won the confidence motion he moved by voice vote with more yes than no’s. As there is a request for division of votes by the opposition parties, he has proved that he has majority support in the House,” Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar declared in the House.

Earlier, Yediyurappa moved the motion to prove that he enjoyed majority legislative support in the House.

The motion was put to voice vote after Congress leader Siddaramaiah and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) leader and former Chief Minister H.D. Kumarasway spoke on the motion briefly.

Yediyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka last week.

By EP Web Desk

(With Inputs From IANS)

Published on: July 29, 2019 at 12:27 IST

    Related posts