Karnataka Assembly Speaker disqualifies 14 rebel MLAs day before Trust Vote

Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar (File Photo/IANS)

Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqualified 14 MLAs – 11 from Congress party and 3 from JD-S, under the anti-defection law. Among those disqualified include Roshan Baig, Anand Singh, H Vishwanath, ST Somashekhar.

Rebel Congress MLA Shrimant Patil was also disqualified.

The development has taken place a day before the newly formed BJP government has to face trust vote in the state assembly.

These MLAs now cannot contest elections until the expiry of the current assembly ending in 2023.

On July 25, Kumar had disqualified two rebel Congress legislators and an Independent lawmaker.

Those who were disqualified then included Congress rebels Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak assembly) and Mahesh Kumatahalli (Athani assembly) constituencies in Belagavi district and Independent MLA R. Shankar who represented Ranebennur assembly in Haveri district.

Published on: July 28, 2019 at 12:41 IST

By EP Web Desk

    Related posts

    Leave a Reply