Photo: BCCI

Odisha youth attempts suicide after India lose in WC semis

Bhubaneswar:  A cricket fan in Odisha’s Kalahandi district allegedly attempted suicide on Thursday after team India failed to win against New Zealand in the ICC Cricket World Cup semi-final match on Wednesday. Sources said Sambaru Bhoi (24) of Singhbhadi village under Golamunda block allegedly consumed poison after being disappointed over India’s 18-run defeat defeat to […]

Photo: IANS

Samaleshwari Express engine catches fire in Odisha; 3 dead

Bhubaneswar:  At least three persons were killed when the Howrah-Jagadalpur Samaleshwari Express’ engine caught fire after the train rammed into a tower car engaged in repair work between Singapur Road and Keutguda in Odisha’s Rayagada district on Tuesday, authorities said. The engine, luggage van and one general 2nd class coach of Samaleshwari Express derailed after […]

Representative Image (Photo: IANS)

Minor boy held for creating fake Facebook profiles of Odisha politicians

Bhubaneswar:  A minor boy was on Thursday arrested on the charges of duping people by creating fake social media accounts in the name of politicians and other noted personalities in Odisha’s Sambalpur district. The Sambalpur police arrested the youth for allegedly trying to cheat people after creating fake Facebook profiles of Odisha Health and Family […]

Saroj Kumar Meher (File Photo/Facebook)

Engineer harassed by BJD MLA rescued in Odisha

Bhubaneswar:  A junior engineer in Odisha’s Bolangir district, who was forced to do sit-ups by Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) Patnagarh MLA Saroj Kumar Meher, was rescued by the police after being allegedly abducted. Patnagarh sub-divisional police officer Suresh Nayak said that Jaykant Sabar was rescued from Khariar area of Nuapada district, following a complaint lodged […]

Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President Naveen Patnaik was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Odisha for a fifth consecutive term on Wednesday (Photo: IANS)

Naveen Patnaik sworn-in as Odisha CM for 5th term

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President Naveen Patnaik was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Odisha for a fifth consecutive term on Wednesday after he was re-elected with a decisive majority in the Assembly elections. He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ganeshi Lal in the presence of thousands of people and […]

Chandrani Murmu (File Photo/Facebook)

Chandrani Murmu from Odisha set to be youngest Lok Sabha member ever

Bhubaneswar: With Odisha sending 33 per cent women MPs to the Lok Sabha, the lower house of Parliament will also have a woman MP from the state as its youngest-ever member. Chandrani Murmu, a 25-year-old engineering graduate, has been elected on a Biju Janata Dal (BJD) ticket from Keonjhar Lok Sabha seat, reserved for scheduled […]