Chandrani Murmu (File Photo/Facebook)

Chandrani Murmu from Odisha set to be youngest Lok Sabha member ever

Bhubaneswar: With Odisha sending 33 per cent women MPs to the Lok Sabha, the lower house of Parliament will also have a woman MP from the state as its youngest-ever member. Chandrani Murmu, a 25-year-old engineering graduate, has been elected on a Biju Janata Dal (BJD) ticket from Keonjhar Lok Sabha seat, reserved for scheduled […]

File Photo: IANS

Split voting helped BJP improve its tally in Odisha

Bhubaneswar:  In a clear departure from voting preferences in previous elections, Odisha has witnessed a split voting this time while selecting their representatives for Lok Sabha and the state Assembly. The split mandate helped the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Lok Sabha while the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) performed impressively in Assembly as people decided […]

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik (File Photo)

Naveen Patnaik’s journey: Reluctant politician to five-time CM

Bhubaneswar:  Once reluctant to join politics and inherit his father’s mantle, 72-year-old Naveen Patnaik is on his way to form the fifth consecutive government in Odisha — in the process becoming one of the longest-serving chief ministers in the country. His command is still poor over Odia, the mother tongue of the state, but Naveen […]

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik (File Photo/IANS)

Rs 100 cr package for Fani-hit Odisha vendors, farmers

Bhubaneswar:  Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday announced Rs 100 crore special package for street vendors, coconut growers and poultry farmers affected by Cyclone ‘Fani’. The special package will be met from the Chief Minister’s Relief Fund (CMRF) and state’s own resources. About 30,000 street vendors whose livelihood has been severely affected in 11 […]