Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur (File Photo/IANS)

Opposition uproar over Pragya Thakur’s oath in LS

New Delhi: Opposition parties on Monday created ruckus in the Lok Sabha objecting to the prefix “Sadhvi” that Pragya Singh Thakur used with her name while taking oath as the newly elected member of the lower House. Thakur addressed herself as, “I, Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur Poorna Chetnanand Avdheshanand Giri” while being sworn-in. The Opposition […]

Photo: Twitter@Congress

Government approaches Sonia ahead of Parliament session, 10 ordinances on agenda

New Delhi:  With heavy legislative agenda that includes 10 ordinances, the government on Friday reached out to UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi to seek her cooperation in smooth running of the Parliament session with three Union ministers visiting her 10 Janpath residence. Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi and his deputy Arjun […]

Photo: IANS

Sidhu divested of his portfolio; most Punjab ministers get new one

Chandigarh:  Hours after the first state Cabinet meeting post Lok Sabha elections, Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh on Thursday evening rejigged the portfolios of most of the ministers, including Navjot Singh Sidhu. Barring four ministers, there are some changes in the portfolios of all the ministers as a result of the reallocation, which the Chief […]

Former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi (File Photo: IANS)

Tejashwi not leader of Grand Alliance, but of RJD: Former Bihar CM Manjhi

Patna:  After the Congress, another ally of the RJD-led Grand Alliance, Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) chief and former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi on Thursday targeted Bihar opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav, saying the latter is the leader of RJD, not of the Grand Alliance. A week after the RJD-led opposition’s rout in the Lok Sabha […]

File Photo: Twitter

Mamata turns down Modi’s swearing-in invite

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday announced that she will not attend Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in on Thursday, alleging the BJP was using the ceremony “to score political points”. “The oath-taking ceremony is an august occasion to celebrate democracy, not one that should be devalued by any political party which uses […]